Teddy Daka

30th April 2021 By: Martin Zhuwakinyu - Creamer Media Senior Deputy Editor

Teddy Daka

Full Name: Teddy Daka

Position: Co-CEO of Zutari (previously Aurecon). I am also chairperson of BankservAfrica, nonexecutive chairperson of Tedaka Investment, trustee of the South African National Defence Force Education Trust, chairperson of the Sandfontein Artillery Regiment Council, and chairperson and principal adviser of Tedaka Advisory Service

Main Activity of the Company: Zutari is an engineering and infrastructure advisory company

Date and Place of Birth: June 26, 1965

Education: BA (Hons) (Business Management), MBA, and various executive programmes

First Job: Senior manager, Palabora Foundation

Career History Prior to Current Position: Group CEO of Etion, MD of Tedaka Advisory Services, executive: economic empowerment at Telkom, and senior manager of Palabora Foundation. My past directorships and trusteeships include the following: global chairperson of Aurecon Group, Australia; chairperson of Aurecon, Singapore; nonexecutive director and chairperson of the audit committee of Aurecon, Singapore; chairperson of South African Airways Technical, and nonexecutive director and member of the procurement and tender committee of South African Airways

First Job with Present Group: Trustee of the African Ownership Trust

Value of Assets under Your Control: Not stated

Number of People under Your Leadership: Over 2 000 people

Management Style: I have a flexible management style, and adapt to different situations within the business environment

Personal Best Achievement: Not stated

Professional Best Achievement: Not stated

Person Who Has Had the Biggest Influence on Your Life: My mother

Person You Would Most Like to Meet: Lee Kuan Yew, the first Prime Minister of Singapore

Businessperson Who Has Impressed You Most: Richard Branson (globally) and former MTN Group CEO Phuthuma Nhleko (locally)

Favourite Reading: Books on politics, the economy, philosophy, et cetera

Favourite TV Programme: The news

Favourite Food/Drink: Asian cuisine but not the too spicy variety/Whiskey and red wine

Favourite Music: A variety of music, depending on where I am and what I am doing

Hobbies: Reading, hiking and cycling

Pets: Two German Shepherds

Children: Three children and one grandchild