Barry Owen

9th June 2017

Barry Owen

Full Name: Barry Owen

Position: MD of Bobcat Equipment, Bobcat Rental and Goscor Earthmoving Equipmen

Main Activity of the Company: Sales, service and rental of compact and other earthmoving equipment

Date and Place of Birth: February 12, 1972, Luanshya, Zambia

Education: BSc, BSc Med (Hons), MBA

First Job: Medical sales representative at Astra Pharmaceuticals (now Astra Zeneca)

Career History Prior to Current Position: CE of exports, BSi Steel, 2012 to 2016; several start-ups, 2004 to 2011; MD (Europe) of Strategic Analysis, based in Brussels, Belgium, 2002 to 2003; senior consultant, Arthur D Little, based in London, 2000 to 2001; product manager, Astra Pharmaceuticals, 1997 to 1999

Size of First Pay Packet: R4 200 a month

First Job with Present Group: MD

Value of Assets under Your Control: R200-million

Number of People under Your Leadership: 210

Management Style: Participative, open and honest. I like rolling up my sleeves and getting into the trenches with my team

Personal Best Achievement: Playing soccer for South African Universities

Professional Best Achievement: Developing talent and seeing people enjoying the ride as they grow in the professional sphere

Person Who Has Had the Biggest Influence on Your Life: A great friend named John Dovey

Person Who Has Had the Biggest Influence on Your Career: Pete Vogel, MD of CoroCapital, and Patrick Quarmby, formerly of Didata

Person You Would Most Like to Meet: Warren Buffett

Businessperson Who Has Impressed You Most: Richard Branson

Philosophy of Life: Hard work and perseverance pay off; stay the course

Biggest Ever Opportunity: My current position – I love it!

Biggest Ever Disappointment: Being out for four runs in the only cricket match I ever played at Lords

Hope for the Future: A progressive, corruption-free South Africa where our leaders focus on what is best for the country

Favourite Reading: Well-written biographies or autobiographies

Favourite TV Programme: Any Supersport channel

Favourite Food/Drink: Rare rump steak with a cold Castle Lite

Favourite Music: 80s music (much to my boys’ horror!)

Favourite Sport: Rugby and cricket

Favourite Website: Google – helps me to learn about everything!

Hobbies: Golf, cycling and watching my boys play sport

Car: BMW X5

Pets: Two cats
Miscellaneous Dislikes: Incompetent leaders, bad attitudes and pilchards

Favourite Other South African Company: Investec

Favourite Foreign Company: Southwest Airlines

Married: To Debby, since November 11, 1997

Children: Brendan, 20; Matthew, 17; Dominic, 13

Clubs: None yet – only recently back in South Africa